Resolutions

image

It’s that time of year again when I think about the blank pages of the year ahead that are yet to be written upon, yet to be seen or experienced. I usually come up with lots of goals for the year which are sometimes achieved, sometimes not. This year I thought along different lines.

During Advent I thoroughly enjoyed participating in The Bible Society’s Advent Challenge. Each day during December there was a different task to complete in order to focus oneself on the true meaning of Christmas & other people. I did all kinds of things like sending Christmas cards to neighbours we don’t know, baking gingerbread biscuits with the kids to give out as thankyous to people (including the post lady!), buying a meal for a homeless person, sending surprise gifts to friends, smiling lots, having a clear out & my personal highlight, paying for the person’s order behind me in the coffee shop queue (scary but so much fun!). We also enlisted the help of The Kindness Elves (google them to find out more) who the children loved! Ours were little wooden peg dolls that I made from a kit. We named them Holly & Christoff. They helped us to be kind & thoughtful during the build up to Christmas.

Anyway, I decided that it would be good to carry on in this vein during 2016 so my New Year’s resolution is to try to spread joy, peace, love & light this year. Not sure how that will work out practically but I’m sure we’ll think of something! The kids are keen too!

Happy New Year everyone!

3 thoughts on “Resolutions

Leave a Reply

